Africa · Kenya

I think I found the one…

Photography by Aska and Camilla

My heart was beating fast. He was slowly approaching and i did not quite know what to do. I was excited and i am pretty sure my silly grin gave me away. He was so beautiful.Something out of a fantasy…And when he touched my hand, my heart melted. Bliss.

Haha…Gotcha there didn’ t I? Note: This is still a travel blog guys. And my love, she’ s a girl. A tall, beautiful and gracious giraffe called Daisy. I’ ve wanted to revisit The Giraffe centre for quite some time now and when my schedule opened up, i pounced at the opportunity. I first visited the centre as a child,for a school trip and i can hardly remember anything from back then. Giraffe Centre, otherwise known as African Fund for Endangered Wildlife Giraffe Centre, was founded in by  1979 as a breeding centre of the Rothschild’s giraffe(which is endangered) and opened up an environmental education centre for the Kenyan youth, in 1983.You can read more about the centre’ s history and projects.

At the centre, you can see and feed the giraffes. You can “kiss” them as well, which is just placing the pellets on your lips and the giraffes get to pick them from you with their tongue(their very long tongues by the way). Their saliva is apparently antiseptic.

The amazing staff also give short talks about the centre and teach you a tad about giraffes. Did you know there were three types of giraffes? Yup. You can thank me later.

14052707_1794312814123039_1229289463_n

There is a nature trail right opposite the centre’ s main gate which i obviously went on. I think i overemphasised just how much i love nature trails here and here. Photo ops everywhere all ye grammers.

img_3895

img_3914

 

img_4011

I must say i was rather impressed by the centre. It’ s very well maintained and i love that they played and still play a major role in conservation. The only bummer was that the giraffes took forever to come to the platforms. They were straight up just ignoring us.Literally.

img_3862
We ain’ t going nowhere guys
img_3854
Still not coming
img_3845
guys, lets just think about it
img_3844
Pumba and company kept us entertained as we waited

But then again it was not the centre’ s fault.They’ re animals anyway. There’ s not much anyone can do. Eventually they came out and everything was better in the world again.

img_4103

img_4153
img_4134

img_4136

and the rates are quite affordable.

entry
From AFEW’ s website

 

The Giraffe Centre is pretty popular so you might wanna visit on weekdays and early mornings.They are open from 9:00 am- 5:00 pm. I went in the afternoon and it was packed.

img_4097

img_4091

If you can, check it out. It’ s perfect for a day trip and a perfect start to your Kenyan safari.

Stay winning!

and Tembea Kenya…

12 thoughts on “I think I found the one…

Leave a Reply

